Parking Citation Information

Parking Citations

As part of our commitment to providing safe and accessible parking, parking citations can be issued to any vehicle found in violation of Cal State LA's Parking Regulations.  All citations are issued in accordance with the California Vehicle Code.  Regulations are enforced 24/7, holidays included. It should be understood that a warning may be issued for a parking violation, however a citation can be received on the first violation. 

Citation Payments

Payments can be made:

  • By mailing your payment to the address located on the citation.
  • In person with cash, check, or Visa/MasterCard at the Transportation Service Center.
  • In the citation payment drop-box in front of Public Safety (check or money order only please)

 

Payment for citations should be made within 21 calendar days of receiving the citation.  If payments are received after the due date, a delinquent fee will be assessed to your fine and will be included on your Delinquent Courtesy Notice. Failure to pay a citation may result in a DMV hold and a university hold being placed on your record. Per Adm Procedure 402,7.3.4. the University may remove an abandoned vehicle, any vehicle parked in such a way as to constitute a traffic hazard, and vehicles illegally parked.  Vehicles with five (5) or more unpaid parking citations are subject to impound (towing) under California Vehicle Code sections 22651.3(b) and 22651.7.  The owner will be responsible for costs involved in removing and storing of such vehicles.

 

Parking Fines

Fines vary based on the violation and amounts of fines are in-line with neighboring cities and other CSU Campuses. 

Here's a quick guide to our citation descriptions and fines.

Fine amounts effective July 1, 2018

Type of Violation

Fine

Violation of Rules and Regulations

(No valid permit displayed, exceeding time limit, parking in a reserved space, displaying expired permit, etc.)

 

$60.00

Safety Violations

(Fire lane, bike lane, walkway, blocking other vehicles, etc.)

 

$75.00

Displaying Forged/Altered or Lost/Stolen Permit

$220.00

Disabled Zone Violations $368.00

 

Full List of Violations, Fines, and Delinquent Fees

Bail and delinquent fee amounts effective July 1, 2018

Full List of Violations, Fines, and Delinquent Fees

Violation Code Description Bail  Delinquent Fee  Total if Delinquent
22523b ABANDONMENT PROHIBITED $75.00 $34.00 $109.00
21113A-3 BACKED INTO STALL POSTED $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
22500F BLOCKING A SIDEWALK $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
22507.8(b) BLOCKING DISABLED STALL $368.00 $34.00 $402.00
22500(E) BLOCKING DRIVEWAY $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
22500I BUS ZONE $263.00 $34.00 $297.00
22514 BY FIRE HYDRANT NO OPERATOR $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
22507.8(a) DISABLED PARKING ZONE $368.00 $34.00 $402.00
2251156b DISABLED PLACARD MISUSE $368.00 $60.00 $428.00
21113A DISPLAY OF FALSE PERMIT $220.00 $34.00 $254.00
22500H DOUBLE PARKING $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
21113A-11 FAIL TO OBEY POSTED SIGN $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113a-32 IMPROPERLY DISPLAYED PERMIT $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113A-10 LOADING ZONE WHITE YEL. $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113A-25 LOST/STOLEN PERMIT $220.00 $34.00 $254.00
21113A-6 NO PARKING ZONE $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113A-33 NO VALID PERMIT DISPLAYED $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113A-4 OUTSIDE OF MARKED STALL $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113a OVERNIGHT PARKING $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
21113A-7 OVERTIME PARKING $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
22502A PARKING 18IN FROM CURB $60.00 $34.00 $94.00
22500.1 PARKING IN FIRE LANE $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
22507.8(C) PARKING ON A CROSSHATCH $368.00 $34.00 $402.00
21113A-13 PARKING ON A CROSSWALK $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
21113A-9 RED ZONE $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113A-8 RESERVED PARKING ZONE $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
22515a UNATTENDED VEHICLE $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
21113A UNLAWFUL PARKING -PUBLIC GRND $60.00 $60.00 $120.00
22500B PARKING ON A CROSSWALK $75.00 $39.00 $114.00
22500A WITHIN INTERSECTION $75.00 $39.00 $114.00

 

Contesting a Citation

Level One: Initial Review

A request for an Initial Review of a parking citation must be submitted within 21 calendar days of receiving the citation or within 14 calendar days of receiving the Delinquent Courtesy Notice. Responses will be mailed to the name and address supplied on the form.

Request for an Initial Review can be made by submitting a Parking Citation Contest form online at PayMyCite.com/CSULA/contestform.aspx or to the Public Safety Front Desk.

Public Safety Front Desk accepts Contest Forms;

  • In person Monday through Friday, 8 am to 6 pm and Saturday, 8 am to 12pm.
  • By fax at: (323) 343-3724.
  • By mail at: Public Safety/Parking Services, 5151 State University Dr., Public Safety Bldg, Los Angeles, CA 90032.

 

Level Two: Administrative Hearing

If you are unsatisfied with the Initial Review results, requests for an Administrative Hearing can be made by returning the Request enclosed in your Initial Review response. Please note that the Request must be made for an Initial Review before requesting an Administrative Hearing. The request for the Administrative Hearing must be made within 21 days of the results from the Initial Review. No fees required to request an Initial Review, but all fees due from the Citation must be paid before an Administrative Hearing date is provided (Reference CVC 40215.b. for complete details).

A Hearing Examiner will review the information provided and your testimony. A decision is then rendered. The decision of the Hearing Examiner may be delivered by first class mail.

 

If your citation is "dismissed," the penalty paid for the citation will be refunded in full. Refunds can be requested at Public Safety. Public Safety is open Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm, and can be contacted by phone at (323) 343-3700.

 

Academic Holds for Unpaid Parking Citations

Should a parking citation become past due, in addition to a DMV hold an academic hold with the university may be applied.

Students receiving an academic hold for outstanding citations will not be able to do any of the following:

  • Register for classes
  • Receive copies of their transcript

Parking services will use the following criteria to determine whether an Academic Hold will be applied to a student’s record:

  • Parking citations must be past due
  • With a reasonable determination that the student owned or operated the vehicle at time of citation.

Academic holds can only be released after payment is received in full.  To ensure the hold is released, please contact Parking Services during regular business hours, Mon-Friday 8:00- 5:00 p.m.  Please contact (323) 343-3705 or (323) 343-3700 and an authorized staff will release the academic hold once payment or citation status is verified.

Further information on Parking Citations is available online at: PayMyCite.com or by contacting the Public Safety Office at (323) 343-3700.

 

Citation Payment Agreements

Pursuant to California State University (CSU) policy 4071, Cal State LA is offering a payment agreement for multiple unpaid citations or citations totaling $200 or more.  At plan enrollment, a minimum initial payment of 10% of the amount owed, plus a $25 enrollment fee, is required.  Subsequent payments will be made on a monthly basis as set by Cal State LA Parking Services to the following durations, but citations may be paid in full at any time during the agreement.  For more information visit our Citation Payment Agreement Page.

 

All above information is subject to change without further notice.

 

 

Contest a Citation     Buy Permits or Pay Citations      Visitor Parking    Parking Regulations    Parking Map

 
Events & Reservations    Parking Permit Information     Faculty & Staff Transportation Information    Parking &Transportation Forms    Contact Parking Services
                                 
For more parking and transportation information and updates, like us on Facebook
and follow us on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat 
 

Facebook     https://twitter.com/CalStateLA_Park    instagram.com/calstatela_parking/    snapchat.com/add/calstatela_park